Legislative Candidates





A total of 25 seats out of the chamber’s 49 seats are up for election in 2016. Nebraska state senators serve staggered, four-year terms and half of the senate is up for election every two years.

There are 49 Nebraska State Senators. In 2016, 11 current members are ineligible to run for the senate again in November.

The 11 senators ineligible to run for re-election are:

  • Heath Mello
  • Tanya Cook
  • Dave Bloomfield
  • Ken Haar
  • Kathy Campbell
  • Colby Coash
  • Mike Gloor
  • Galen Hadley
  • Beau McCoy
  • Kate Sullivan
  • Ken Schilz

Nebraska Secretary of State- Candidates for 2016 Primary Election CLICK HERE

Find Your Senator CLICK HERE


Nebraska State Senate elections, 2016 CLICK HERE